Warning: Vagueblogging Ahead

It’s the sixth anniversary of when I moved to Chico and – lucky you! – started this blog. That was at one of my lowest points personally and professionally and I was convinced, truly, that my life was destined to suck forever. As if I had one shot to have the life I wanted and it didn’t work and NO SOUP FOR YOU. Ridiculous, I know. Obviously that isn’t the case. Within the year I was on my way to this lovely, fun, surprising, not-perfect-but-highly-entertaining life. I try not to take it for granted.

As shitty as I thought 2008 was, 2013 probably trumped it in terms of feeling weighed down by disappointment and heartbreak. Almost like the universe was saying, “Oh, you thought THAT was bad? Ha-HA! We’ve got more for you!” Cheesy as it sounds, you’d think I would have learned by now that sometimes the old “there’s more room in a broken heart” thing is true. Sometimes shit needs to fall apart in order for other new possibilities to make themselves clear. The life you thought you were going to have – supposed to have – isn’t the only way to be happy. And all the good things coming your way wouldn’t have been possible if you had stayed that original course.

Happy, welcome changes are coming (which I promise to share in more detail in due time) and some of them are a little scary and uncertain and we’re not completely in control of everything (anyone who knows what compulsive list-makers and planners we are can just imagine what fun it is in our house right now). But we’re ready and open. Bring it.

4 thoughts on “Warning: Vagueblogging Ahead

  1. With every new adventure, I tell myself that it’s either going to be a good time or a good story. It usually takes a while to appreciate the latter, but eventually you do. And think about it: Aren’t the most interesting people you know the ones with the best stories?

    • Oh, absolutely! It definitely took me some time to appreciate the good stories that came from some of the not-so-good times but now? I can absolutely see the humor or how it turned out to be for the best. And by that I mean: excellent blog fodder.

Leave a Reply

