College Friends + Open Bar = I Think You Know Where This is Headed

Alternate Title: A Photo Essay in Functional Alcoholism

Alternate Title 2: We Were Overserved, Yo

 

This last weekend was spent celebrating the marriage of my former college roommate, Becky, to Dave Hopkins.  Rebecca (as she is now known) and Dave were married at San Francisco’s City Hall last December and wanted to celebrate their new family with a fun, laid-back, rockin’ good party.  They delivered.  The Team Hopkins Extravaganza also provided our group of friends with the annual “Someone-is-Getting-Married-We-Get-to-Party” event.  We pretend we are 21 again, our livers hurt and then we all go home to our real lives as functional alcoholics adults.

 

I have no regrets from the weekend, other than a sad absence of photos of the BRIDE AND GROOM.  Also, no group UPS shot that we can submit to the alumni magazine.  Oh well.  The memories live on in our hearts, right?  Sure.

 

Friday night the happy couple opened up their darling home for some mingling, snacks and drinks.  Many, many drinks.  Boy Chris, his amazingly patient and delightful wife Katie, and I were the first at the Hopkins residence and the last to leave.  Somewhere in there we each drank our body weight in wine.  At one point I opened a beer, took two sips, and then…forgot about it?  Was dragged out of the house because we had overstayed our loud, drunken welcome?  All of the above, likely.

 

The drive home seemed like a good moment to capture some precious memories, so I whipped out the camera.  Behold the fruits of my artistic genius.

 

My self-portrait skillz are pretty rockin' after a ton of wine, yes?
My self-portrait skillz are pretty rockin' after a ton of wine, yes?

 

At this point we still thought Justin and Kim were taking us to a bar.  Probably a good call to drive us back to the hotel immediately so we could pass out.
At this point we still thought Justin and Kim were taking us to a bar. Probably a good call to drive us back to the hotel immediately so we could pass out.

 

Girl Chris: Keepin' It Klassy Since 1996
Girl Chris: Keepin' It Klassy Since 1996

 

Saturday I awoke aching, hungover and wearing my pajama shirt backwards.  It’s a v-neck, you guys.  How messed up was I that I couldn’t manage to put it on the right way?  And are we concerned that I have ZERO recollection of changing my clothes?  Boy and Katie swear they saw nothing but they may have blocked the memory in self-preservation.  Boy, bless him, brought me some Advil and we rallied for The Main Event.
Cupcake?  Check!  Margarita?  Check!  Beefy?  Hells YEAH!
Cupcake? Check! Margarita? Check! Beefy? Hells YEAH!

 

Katie cracks up as Clare enjoys a cupcake sans kiddos.
Katie cracks up as Clare enjoys a cupcake sans kiddos.
Kim holds Baby Natalie so Mama Clare and Daddy Ross can enjoy a cupcake and drink with two hands.  Within two seconds I had nicknamed her "Natty Light" because Aunt Girl Chris is all kinds of appropriate.
Kim holds Baby Natalie so Mama Clare and Daddy Ross can enjoy a cupcake and drink with two hands. Within two seconds I had nicknamed her "Natty Light" because Aunt Girl Chris is all kinds of appropriate.
Not a bad attempt at a self-portrait if you ignore my five chins and weird neck wrinkles.  My booze money may be going toward Botox soon.  Undocumented: the bottle of wine we stashed in Katie's purse.  Say it with me now: Klassy!
Not a bad attempt at a self-portrait if you ignore my five chins and weird neck wrinkles. My booze money may be going toward Botox soon. Undocumented: the bottle of wine we stashed in Katie's purse. Say it with me now: Klassy!
Kimmer: Queen of S'mores.  Also, freaking adorable.
Kimmer: Queen of S'mores. Also, freaking adorable.
"O'DOYLE RULES!"  The boys enjoy cigars as we transition from silly-tipsy to rowdy-wasted.
"O'DOYLE RULES!" The boys enjoy cigars as we transition from silly-tipsy to rowdy-wasted.
An open flame and drunk people?  Sounds like an EXCELLENT plan!  Kind of a miracle no one fell in or lost an eyebrow or whatever.  The s'mores were a huge hit and the fire pit was excellent for keeping warm.
An open flame and drunk people? Sounds like an EXCELLENT plan! Kind of a miracle no one fell in or lost an eyebrow or whatever. The s'mores were a huge hit and the fire pit was excellent for keeping warm.
Thanks for driving us around and making sure we didn't fall in the fire pit!
Thanks for driving us around and making sure we didn't fall in the fire pit!
I told these two hanging out with me would be good practice for having a kid one day.  Especially if they have a 100lb drunk kid.  You sure you still want me to move to Pasadena?
I told these two hanging out with me would be good practice for having a kid one day. Especially if they have a 100lb drunk kid. You sure you still want me to move to Pasadena?
Other highlights of the weekend included:
  • Boy trying to hit me with his shoe, Conte-style
  • Meeting Baby Natalie, who is so cute and sweet it makes my uterus ache
  • Katie informing us of the warning signs of liver failure, many of which sound like me on any given day
  • Oh, yeah, celebrating the formation of a NEW FAMILY!  Congratulations Rebecca, Dave and Sam!
7 thoughts on “College Friends + Open Bar = I Think You Know Where This is Headed

  1. Ummm…..yeah. There are pictures (via Clare) of me with my wife’s purse and a bottle of wine in it.

    You stay classy Pasadena!

Leave a Reply

