Katie

Tonight we are headed out to a party, but I am not especially excited about it.  Yes, it will be at Tres Hombres and there will be many fun people there and I even have something cute to wear.  But I don’t really feel like celebrating.

 

Who wants shots?
Who wants shots?

 

Tomorrow my dear friend and partner in Chico crime, Katie, is moving to Santa Barbara to be with her love, start a new career, and drain the local Trader Joe’s of its Two Buck Chuck supply. 

 

A and the girls in Chico.
A and the girls in Chico.

 

Yes, I am happy for her and completely support this decision.  She and A are both excited about this and eager to start this new chapter in their relationship.  And I am thrilled that she is happy and at peace with this decision.  No trepidation or second-guessing.  It really is an incredible move.

 

Good friends mock your misfortune.
Good friends mock your misfortune.

 

But it doesn’t mean I won’t miss the hell out of her. 

 

Want some wine?  Oh, sorry, we drank it all.
Want some wine? Oh, sorry, we drank it all.

 

Katie took my old job when I moved to San Francisco.  When I would chat with old co-workers they would always talk about how great she was, so fun, doing a wonderful job.  “You two would get along so well!”  And yet we never met until my return last summer.  I was a sad heartbroken shell of my formerly vivacious self.  She would stop by my office to say hi and check in, ask if I needed anything.  At a crossroads and dealing with some big decisions in her own life, she extended so much kindness my way and reinforced my belief in the good in people.  Apparently my lack of connection to the various players in her life made me an ideal confidante because she vented to me.  We talked, laughed, cursed like sailors and decided that we needed to hang out.  And a new friendship – which felt like an old one – was born.

 

Sake it to us.
Sake it to us.

 

About a month ago I looked at her and said, “If someone had told us a year ago that our lives would be this great right now, would you have believed it?”  There are many reasons our lives are wonderful right now, but I’d like to think that meeting each other got that ball rolling.

 

Here's a rare photo of us drinking and being goofy.
Here's a rare photo of us drinking and being goofy.

 

Good luck, Dear Katie, and have a safe drive tomorrow.  Get that pilot’s license soon and fly up for a visit soon.  Getting a pedicure alone sounds unbearable.

 

It's a party if she's there.
It's a party if she's there.
One thought on “Katie

Leave a Reply

