What to Wear Wednesday-on-a-Thursday: So, You’re Going to a Wedding

This week we’re mixing things up a bit.  Rather than a question-and-answer, here is a little photo essay on how to dress for a wedding that spans from an afternoon church service to an evening reception at a swanky club.

 

I go to a lot of weddings.  A LOT.  One of the side effects of being social and keeping in touch with people I met in kindergarten, I suppose.  That, and I am a fucking amazing dancer.  Seriously.  I can give you references.

 

Anyway, as much as I dislike the wedding industry and the whole “It’s your day to be a princess!” Bridezilla vibe that can infiltrate these events, I love weddings.  There’s usually an open bar and good music and even bad music at a wedding lends itself to fun on the dance floor AND you get to dress up and be with friends and family.  Sometimes the presence of friends and family makes that open bar super helpful.  There was a time when I also relished the attention of groomsmen and other single male guests but those days are no longer.  (Hi Honey!)

 

A few weeks ago I had the honor of attending my dear friend Monica’s wedding.  I have known her since I was in high school and she is one of the kindest, sweetest, most fashionable people you will ever meet.  Also: classy.  Like, for reals.  I know – I don’t get why she talks to me either.  Knowing that the afternoon ceremony would be a full Catholic mass and the reception would be cocktails, dinner and dancing into the evening, my outfit required balancing “modest” with “sassy.”  CKD was up to the challenge!

 

I had bought a dress a few months ago and hadn’t had a chance to bust it out yet.  Luckily in my world there’s always a wedding around the corner.  My concern was that while it was stylish and classy, the neckline was a wee bit low-cut for church.  Yes even I have standards for appropriate behavior when it comes to church.  Also, shitloads of Catholic guilt.

 

My ceremony outfit:

 

The required in-front-of-the-fireplace picture, like I'm going to prom.
The required in-front-of-the-fireplace picture, like I'm going to prom.

 

Dress: Esley, via Betty’s on Broadway

Cardigan: Forever 21 (I KNOW, RIGHT?)

Shoes: Caparro’s, via DSW (purchased when I was bridesmaiding for Eileen)

Earrings: David’s Bridal (another purchase for Eileen’s wedding)

 

Conservative and respectable for an afternoon church wedding, yes?

 

And now for the reception:

 

With the reason I have retired my groomsman-devouring ways.
With the reason I have retired my groomsman-devouring ways.

 

Ditched the cardigan and switched out the shoes for something a bit taller (although regrettably not visible).

 

Wrap: Target (seriously, that place has some sweet stuff)

Shoes: Mia, via Famous Footwear (and on major sale!)

Clutch: thrifted from Three Sixty Ecotique

 

As you can see, the silhouette allows plenty of movement for the famous DeFazio dance moves and lots of cake consumption.  I love the ruffle detail at the bottom of the dress – whimsical without making the dress look like a costume.  Switching up the accessories was incredible easy – changed shoes in the car and given the gorgeous weather it was a no-brainer to lose the cardigan.

 

With my other love, the caipirinha.
With my other love, the caipirinha.

 

Here you can see my dilemma: the deep v-neck could allow for some nip-slips and other not-awesome issues.  The low cut back narrowed down the bra options, too.  God bless Victoria’s Secret!  The convertible low cut bra kept my girls covered and no tacky bra straps.  A little fashion tape kept the front secured, allowing me freedom to do the Elaine dance and be an idiot without flashing anyone.  Win!

 

In reality, the entire wedding party looked amazing.  From the flattering, stylish bridesmaid dresses to the mother-of-the-bride, it was one of those weddings where you know they’ll look back at the pictures and say, “Damn, we looked good.”  If only we had been more diligent with the photos…

 

Thanks for a beautiful day Monica and Alex! 

 

The happy - and always stylish - couple.
The happy - and always stylish - couple.
2 thoughts on “What to Wear Wednesday-on-a-Thursday: So, You’re Going to a Wedding

  1. Thanks Jackie! I’ve become quite fond of blue lately (have always been a green girl) and am enjoying experimenting. Yes, wearing a blue dress=experiementation in my world. I am excessively lame.

Leave a Reply

