Transgender Day of Remembrance

My cousin Brooke brought it to my attention earlier this week that today is International Transgender Day of Remembrance.  Now, while I identify as a friend to the LGBT community I must admit that until the last year or so I was pretty ignorant regarding issues in the transgender community.  It looks like my baby cousin has much to teach me.  I am not the best person to write about this subject (see: not an expert), but I love my family and it breaks my heart to think that someone else’s sister, brother, daughter, cousin or friend has suffered.

 

Violence and discriminations are two – sadly – common issues that transgender individuals face.  Whether or not you know someone facing these challenges I think, as humans, we can all agree it’s simply not right.

 

I wish peace and happiness to our transgender friends (or cousins, whatever) and hope that our society takes a collective stand to end the violence and discrimination.

One thought on “Transgender Day of Remembrance

Leave a Reply

