Rainy Days and Mondays, Weirdly, Don’t Get Me Down

So, we’re having a bit of weather in California.  Apparently the (much needed) rain and a little wind is a sign of the apocalypse, rather than being winter.  I don’t exactly love rain and cold and freaky driving conditions, but there is something nice about an excuse or reason to stay inside with some tea and a blankie and watch a movie.  And is it just me, or do rainy days=grilled cheese and tomato soup? 

For those of you who have inquired about Bubba’s birthday party, I can happily report that it was a massive success.  For the first time ever my parents opted for a child-centered party for the…child.  In past years the party has been more of an excuse to gather their friends and their kids, many of whom are older and more energetic*.  Now that Sir Bubs can (and often does) exercise his ability to voice his opinion, there was an awesome shift in focus.  A smaller group of age-appropriate friends made for a less-manic gathering with activities for the kids at an earlier hour of the day.  This meant the kids had some structure, no need to kick people out since there was an end time, and I didn’t drink excessively.  I did, however, threaten to tie all of the balloons to the back of my dad’s chair to see if he would float away like the old guy in Up.  I’m kind of a jerk.

As usual, Sissy was a hit with the kids and parents: I helped wee ones into the trampoline and showed them HOW IT’S DONE with some high kicks and air-splits, held babies so parents could eat and drink with free hands, and beat the shit out of the pinata.  Fun times had by all and the rain was kind enough to hold off until after the party so we could make good use of the backyard.  Success!

If you’ll excuse me now I need to go fix myself a rainy day worthy snack and settle in for a day of hibernation.  And hope the cramp from all of the tramploine action goes away soon.  Getting old blows, yo.

*Like my euphemism for behave like feral dogs?

.

One thought on “Rainy Days and Mondays, Weirdly, Don’t Get Me Down

Leave a Reply

