Talkin’ About My Generation

My mom has often told me that as a small child I struck her as an “old soul.”  I was more comfortable around adults than kids my own age and was happiest playing cards with my grandparents.  After taking a 14 question quiz, it has now become FACT, yo: in terms of my lifestyle, I am a Baby Boomer.

Yeah, we have a landline and I don’t have any tattoos and I don’t have any video games, but really?  A Baby Boomer?  I thought I’d at least land in Generation X.  I mean, I wore Doc Martens with flowered dresses, and my love for Reality Bites is well-documented.  WTF?  Also, what’s up with “Millenials” as a generation?  I had heard of Generation Y (meaning, “following X” oh how fucking original) and even the Echo Generation (the backlash or echo of Gen X) but Millenials sounds like a candy. 

And while I’m on an old person rant: according to their birth chart thingy, I should fall into Gen X, but I had always been told I was born just shy of the cutoff, ironic accessories or not.  When did that get adjusted?   WHO IS MAKING UP THESE RULES?

Given that the title of this post if from a song from my parents’ generation, yeah, I think this quiz was juuuust right. 

I am five seconds away from turning the hose on the neighbor kids.

11 thoughts on “Talkin’ About My Generation

  1. Where do you find these things? So, I just took the quiz, too and got a score of 32, which makes me a Baby Boomer also. (Gen X starts at 33 points). Why do we spend our time on such things?????

  2. I find them through reading other blogs (see list on the left) and I was curious so I took it. My score was 20. Dave was 21 – since he is an actual Baby Boomer, that makes sense. Text messaging gave him an edge over CKD the Luddite.

    Did I mention I frequently put on a sweater instead of turning up the heater? My grandpa would be soooo proud!

    I don’t think I spend *too* much time on these things but that’s a matter of opinion. It’s not like I’m neglecting my busy brain surgery practice over here.

  3. Weird… I was just reminded in a meeting today that I am a young Gen Xer and on the cusp with Gen Y/Millennials. Minutes later, someone handed me someone’s dissertation about Gen X leadership styles. WTF? Why is this today’s hot topic?!

  4. Interesting blog, but it’s missing an important part of the equation: Generation Jones (between the Boomers and Generation X). Google Generation Jones, and you’ll see it’s gotten lots of media attention, and many top commentators from many top publications and networks (Washington Post, Time magazine, NBC, Newsweek, ABC, etc.) now specifically use this term. In fact, the Associated Press’ annual Trend Report chose the Rise of Generation Jones as the #1 trend of 2009. Here’s a page with a good overview of recent media interest in GenJones: http://generationjones.com/2009latest.html

    It is important to distinguish between the post-WWII demographic boom in births vs. the cultural generations born during that era. Generations are a function of the common formative experiences of its members, not the fertility rates of its parents. And most analysts now see generations as getting shorter (usually 10-15 years now), partly because of the acceleration of culture. Many experts now believe it breaks down more or less this way:

    DEMOGRAPHIC boom in babies: 1946-1964
    Baby Boom GENERATION: 1942-1953
    Generation Jones: 1954-1965
    Generation X: 1966-1978
    Generation Y/Millennials: 1979-1993

    • Generation Jones makes a lot of sense – the demographic of Boomers always seemed SO broad. Thanks for forwarding the link – I’ll check it out!

      Truth be told, I was always a little fuzzy on the different cutoffs for the generations. Sounds like I’m not alone as we examine dates vs experiences.

Leave a Reply

