If Wedding Planning Was Like Karate I’d Be a Black Belt

Yeah, I know I said I wouldn’t turn this into a wedding planning blog but I just need to toot my own horn here.  As you may remember, I have been engaged for almost a week.  In that time I have managed to

  • Book the ceremony/reception venue (all one place BOOYA)
  • Book the caterer (OK, comes with the venue but STILL)
  • Book blocks of hotel rooms for our beloved out-of-towners
  • Schedule cake tastings.  Yes, plural.  I want to be thorough.  Don’t judge.
  • Set up a website with pertinent info
  • Find an invitation style we both like
  • Pawn off Delegate the bridesmaid dress project to my two hottie maids of honor
  • Try to make a phone call using the TV remote.  Shut up – I was distracted since Major League was on and Cerrano was up at bat and oh my hell I love that movie.

Maybe I’m not that impressive but whatever.  I feel like we’ve accomplished a lot in a short amount of time.  So, take THAT, haters who said that planning a wedding in six months is impossible and that “all the good vendors are booked a year or two in advance.”  Maybe I have low expectations or am just flat-out clueless, but I have been pretty darn pleased thus far and haven’t had to compromise a thing.

A lot of friends keep telling me that planning a wedding is hell and so awful but I find that keeping a bottle of wine nearby has really made it a pleasant experience.

UPDATE:  My gorgeous girls, Lili and Kelly, have ordered their dresses!  I feel like telling the multiple, taunting emails I receive from TheKnot.com each day to SUCK IT!

6 thoughts on “If Wedding Planning Was Like Karate I’d Be a Black Belt

  1. HAHAA died about the remote as a phone. I’ve also been looking for my phone when it’s in my hand asking anyone who will listen “have you seen my phone”. Love those moments.

    I think keeping a bottle of wine nearby is a good decision for most events in life. Work, not so much 🙂

    • I would like to clarify that I was sober during the remote-as-phone situation of 2010, which makes it even more ridiculous.

  2. You’re rockin it!!!!!!!! You’ll nail this thing hands down and it’s going to be one slammin’ party! Can’t wait.

  3. “Juuuust a bit outside….” Awesome movie, though the part where Tom Berenger barges into the party is too awkward to watch.

    Sorry, “set up a website?”

    “Cake tasting?” I mean, wine tasting I understand, but really?

    Obviously, I just don’t understand. 🙂

    • Renee Russo’s hair also makes me unreasonably upset. But yes, excellent film!

      Yes, we have one of those dorkass websites on TheKnot.com. I’ll send you a link to make mocking me easier.

      Duh, OF COURSE you need to taste the cakes to make sure they are of the best quality. Don’t think about this too much – just eat the cake!

Leave a Reply

