Because Even Two Episodes of Gilmore Girls Didn’t Do Anything to Help

I’m not going to lie: I’ve been struggling a little bit lately.  Not in a dire, going-to-die way, but I definitely feel…I don’t know?  Stressed isn’t quite right, and depressed isn’t it either.  Down, I guess?  I’m hungry but nothing sounds good, and I’m having a hard time eating much at once.  I’m tired but I can’t sleep, so I take a Tylenol PM at 1am and at noon am still dragging ass.  It occurs to me at 2pm that I haven’t eaten yet today.  It’s an awesome cycle of hunger, exhaustion, lethargy.  Lather, rinse, repeat, maybe throw in some guilt and worry to mix it up now and then.  I’ve been shying away from writing about this because OMG HELLO DEBBIE DOWNER and who wants that?  It isn’t a constant feeling, but it’s there and it hits me in the middle of something mundane or even fun.  This feels beyond self-indulgent and flat-out dumb seeing as how my life is pretty awesome on many levels.  And yet, I can’t shake this nagging feeling that I’m not doing enough, not being there for people who need me, ot asking too much from those around me.

I don’t really know where I’m going with all of this other than I think I just needed to get it off my chest and put it out there in the universe that I need a little help.  It’s amazing how answers and relief become clear when you acknowledge an issue.

Or, you know, publish it on the goddamn Internet.

6 thoughts on “Because Even Two Episodes of Gilmore Girls Didn’t Do Anything to Help

  1. Hang in there cuz! I suggest having your thyroid checked. I was feeling the same way for months. I had it checked and it was functioning low!!! I didnt know a thyroid effects mood, hunger, sleepiness! Seriously you should have it checked out! Love u

    • Aw, you got the looks and the brains in the family. That’s not a bad idea: everything from my appetite to mood has been affected lately and while I have yet to consult Dr. Google or WebMD I bet “thyroid” will be mentioned. Love you too!

    • Indeed. And yes, there are so many good, wonderful things around the corner…hence I feel like such a douche for not being happier, if that makes sense. Which it probably totally does not, but hey!

  2. If I was one of my sisters-in-law I would insert some joke here about you needing to pee on a stick. And then you would probably be even more irritated than you were before.

    All I have to say is that we should start a club. I’ll bring the wine.

    • Oddly enough, I had a dream last night that I was pregnant. Don’t go stocking up on onesies yet, though. I’ve also had dreams about making out with Jason Bateman and Lord knows that hasn’t happened. Yet.

      Come on over. I’ll bring the cheese.

Leave a Reply

