Appropos of Nothing, I’ve Been Listening to New Order A Lot Lately and I Want to Wear My Doc Martens

It’s almost the end of a rough week and I couldn’t be happier to have some positive things to look forward to in the coming weeks.  Here’s what’s been going on lately:

  • Tomorrow I have a hair appointment, which feels sort of pointless since my hair is finally almost the length I wanted it last month when it was chopped off.  I need a color touch-up and figure that at the very least I can get the layers evened out.  Trying out a new stylist so here’s hoping she doesn’t go bonkers. 
  • I am fully addicted to Pinterest.  It can be really overwhelming – kind of sensory overload – but I love that there’s something for everyone. 
  • Our Thanksgiving headcount is confirmed at eight, with two more possible guests.  This weekend is going to be a lot of shopping prep and – my favorite – stocking the bar.  I’m not great at math, but from my calculations two sets of divorced/remarried parents+one father-in-law+one kindergartener+a perfectionist couple=eleventyhundred bottles of wine, right? 
  • I inadvertently started a shitstorm on Facebook the other day with a half-joking comment “The sound of everyone’s voices going up 15 octaves when someone brings a baby in to the office makes me want to rip out my own ovaries. If it were a puppy maybe I’d understand.”   I may need to add “children” to my list of Things We Do Not Speak of EVER on Facebook.  You heard it here first: Children are the new Politics and Religion.
  • Currently accepting Christmas movie suggestions to augment our stash.  A Christmas Story and Christmas Vacation are favorites and in constant rotation, but we need to mix it up.  Elf is a safe go-to and  Bad Santa is an obvious choice, but since there will be kids ranging in in age 5 to 16 at our place at any given moment more wholesome fare is required.  Sadly, most wholesome stuff makes me gag.  Ed suggested Polar Express (fuck no – Tom Hanks is way creepy), Rudolph the Rednosed Reindeer and Frosty the Snowman (I have…mixed feelings about claymation, but these are safe bets for kids) and some movie about a kid who goes to Wal-mart on Christmas Eve to buy his dying mom red shoes or slippers so that she can look pretty when she goes to heaven to meet Jesus OH HELL NO.  It’s like he doesn’t even know me.  The search continues.

Hope you all have a great week.  Here’s to good hair and Christmas movies that don’t make you want to hork.

One thought on “Appropos of Nothing, I’ve Been Listening to New Order A Lot Lately and I Want to Wear My Doc Martens

  1. Home Alone!! Definitely a fav! And Love Actually is one of my favorite movies ever- but not necessarily a kids flick. What about The Santa Claus with Tim Allen- that’s pretty funny! How the Grinch Stole Christmas (either version)??? Just some ideas. 😉

Leave a Reply

