Damn It Feels Good to Be a Gangsta

If you read the minutiae of my life on Facebook or, like, talk to me in real life you’ve heard the news: I was laid off.  This wasn’t a huge shock given the state budget, and I had a bit of warning.  It’s been a crazy week wrapping things up but I am officially done.  So, uh, what exactly do I do now? Maybe beat the shit out of a fax machine with a bat.  PC LOAD LETTER, indeed.

 

Anyway, I am actually feeling good about the transition.  I have some leads and interviews lined up, and am not in danger of living in a van down by the river any time soon.  Things are going to be OK. 

 

It was an interesting time there and I will forever be grateful that the opportunity arose at a time when my life was in a state of chaos and uncertainty.  Getting this job helped me settle back into life in California, introduced me to wonderful people, and gave me a purpose. 

 

Damn, I’m going to miss seeing random fire academy cadets around campus.

6 thoughts on “Damn It Feels Good to Be a Gangsta

  1. DAMN! Talk about taking advantage! You just gave them a kickass event and they boot you??? Where’s the gratitude?

    At any rate, welcome to funemployment. My advice is to do your unemployment insurance application asap. It takes several weeks to get your first check, and even if you get a job right away, why not get some of your $$ back from what you’ve been paying into all this time?

    btw, I adore the mix of super old school references with new school ones 🙂

    but stay out of prison, honey. Even the white collar one doesn’t look good on a resume. And I don’t see you looking good in flair, either.

  2. @AlexJB: The love is there but the money is not. My boss would be happy to have me at the office every day, but paying me to be there could be a challenge. I did know this was coming before the conference (it’s been a weird, complicated process and up-and-down) but figured if I gave it my all I could walk away knowing I did my best – and hopefully score some sweet letters of rec!

    I don’t want to go to white collar prison OR pund-you-in-the-ass prison. Aiming high as always.

    @Habesha: I absolutely believe what you said! The last 14 months of my life have taught me it’s that everything happens for a reason and new opportunities await!

  3. You kick-ass knowing what seemed to be coming and still rocking that last affair the way you did. I’m excited to see where this will lead you knowing you are safe and sound for the time being and not going to become a river rat. Hmmmmm, time to write a book?

  4. Well, I’m obviously not paying close enough attention to your FB updates! Sorry about the layoff – that does suck. I hope you find “funemployment” at least somewhat enjoyable, in that “find lots of cheap things to do, dang whaddayamean I can’t go shopping” sort of way. And look into keeping your health insurance. Murphy has a way of sneaking into your life when you’re not looking (seriously, my one operation came during the ONE YEAR of my entire life that I did not have real health insurance -ugh!!)

  5. I’m so sorry — I just spotted this. I’m SURE you’ll find something you like more without too much trouble.

Leave a comment