I Am Unable to Read the Word “Champagne” Without Hearing Christopher Walken’s Voice in Those SNL Sketches

It’s Friday so you’re getting bullets and wedding updates.  Double-super cop-out because I am boring!  You’re welcome.

  • We chose the cake (well, cupcakes) at our first appointment, which meant that my diabolical plot to eat as much free cake as possible was thwarted.  I feel like the terrorists are winning or something.
  • When the Cake Lady asked if we were planning on having some sort of cake topper, Ed looked at me nervously as I answered, “We’d like a Cylon topper of some sort.  Do you have one?”  My mom just lowered her head and signed heavily.  WHATEVER.  My geek-gene can be traced directly back to HER and Ed owns the original Battlestar Galactica TV series from the ’70s on DVD. 
  • On Monday we had an appointment to meet with a wedding coordinator friend of Ed’s.  It took everything in my willpower not to call her JLo.  I’m wondering if I’m the first bride to roll up to an appointment hungover while “The Stroke” is blaring from my car.  It’s Chico, so I doubt it.
  • Wedding Coordinator Who is Not Named JLo is super-awesome and may be just the person to keep my mom from having a stroke, and keep me from worrying that the vendors are going to take my money and run off to Mexico.  She has also provided us with forms to fill out with basic information and what we have booked already so she knows what she’s dealing with.  It’s…concerning how excited this has made me.  I love filling out forms, questionnaires, surveys, etc.  So much, in fact, that I basically CALLED DIBS on the forms to Ed.  Like, “Don’t even worry about them, sweetie!  I GOT THIS.  DON’T EVEN PRINT THEM.  I WILL FILL THEM OUT!” 
  • Yes, it is to late to back out, Ed.  I know you read this!
  • The other day I caught a Gilmore Girls rerun and realized that JON HAMM once had a brief guest starring role and almost lost my shit from the mass collision of TV worlds.  Gilmore GirlsMad Men30 Rock!  Also, he looked about 12 years-old in this episode but still so handsome in almost hurt my eyes.
  • The rainy November-ish (not to be confused with “November Rain”) weather of earlier this week has finally passed and hand to God, people, I can feel my mood improving.  I might just need to sabre open some champagne to celebrate.  Plus, the backyard isn’t soggy so I can go out there and do idiotic shit with a knife and glass without breaking something in the house.  It’s called being responsible.

Have a glorious weekend, my loves.

One thought on “I Am Unable to Read the Word “Champagne” Without Hearing Christopher Walken’s Voice in Those SNL Sketches

Leave a comment